Posted in Girl Things, Of Thoughts and Emotions

How to Overcome Shopaholic Tendencies

Have you found yourself caught up in a certain desire for particular things? It starts with something you saw on TV, in a magazine, in another person’s possession, wherever! And then you google about it and search for it in online stores. Next thing you know you’re clicking on the items to be added in your cart.

There are a lot of times when I find myself desiring for things that I don’t need, those which are called wants. And for each of them I go through a battle with myself whether to click the “Order Now” button or not. At times I succeeded, at other times I did not.

Okay, so this is nothing extraordinary. It’s all about women stuff that we want to have because it’s nice having them added to our already full closets and storage boxes.

Just recently I’ve been browsing through virtualdivisoria.com and I already added 5 dresses into my cart. Well the dresses there are super affordable with competitive quality. I tried ordering from that online store once and the dress pleased me well! Unfortunately after five months in my closet I haven’t used it yet. Why, I still have lots of dresses to wear and I’m saving it for a special occassion.

Haven’t used it yet, huh, and there I was, about to purchase additional five dresses!

I hurriedly deleted each one from the cart and left the site.

You see we easily get swayed with the impulse of owning more, looking better, and, as a result, buying more.

Okay I’m not driving to that point where you should deprive yourself, or something like that. Of course there are times that aside from really NEEDing something, you spend just to treat yourself.

So I’ll just share the questions that you should ask yourself first before inputting your credit card number or reaching for your wallet.

1. Do I need this? Like that dress that I bought five months ago, I didn’t need it. Perhaps there will come a time when I’m gonna need it finally. But what if I invested my money instead of buying the dress, it could have earned by now or by the time I actually would need a new dress that I can buy something of better quality. I mean I can spend my grown money to buy among a wider range of options. I can also buy an up-to-date dress instead of that fad five months ago.

2. Do I already own something like this? Sometimes we just want duplicates. Something that we can use in case the other one breaks down. Like earrings. Why do we have to have five pairs of earrings? To match our outfit whatever the color might be? But who cares if you have only one or many? Yes people get impressed. But seriously, what does that mean to you, financially? Does impressing them add any bit to your retirement fund?

3. Can I afford 10 pieces of this want? If you can’t, then save more to reach that amount. By the time you already have the amount, your desire might have been changed and thus you will be saved from the fleeting pleasure of impulsive buying. If you can afford 10 pieces right away, then go buy one! But with the equivalent amount of 10 pieces you can already use it to buy additional stocks or to add into your investments! Thinking twice will make you wise.

So before that hunt for my next pair of jeans, I’ll bear those three questions upon myself. Surely, the answers may be no-yes-yes, but I’ll just turn around and leave the store. My money can be spent for something more important 

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

