Posted in Home and Family, Of Thoughts and Emotions

I Spent Php 35 Today

It’s been a very long 5-day weekend for me since I was on leave from work since Friday. It’s the national elections yesterday and my little one’s babysitter went to the province to vote, and it’s just tonight that she’s on her 7-hour bus ride to our place.

The previous days, and today, is a break from my usual routine of getting up early and battling the hustle of traffic and bustle in the office to struggle going back home later in the day. It occured to me many times during the past days that what if I’ll have to leave my career and spend these best years of my life at home. To raise our son and keep the house, probably find ways to earn from here somehow, be an entrepreneur, manage my own time.

I tried to calculate my current salary versus expenses in-between the busy moments of my little one, but unfortunately I was not able to come up with a decent computation since my little one will suddenly come near me and make me join his games or request for milk or food.

What I got is that I spent Php 35 today on buying food from the vendor in the neighborhood. It lasted me the whole day, together with some left-overs in our refrigerator. On the regular days that I go to work I spend an average of Php 100 per day for the food from the office canteen and another Php 100 for my fare back and forth. That’s a total of Php 200 per day.

I came to think about the many pros and cons of working as an employee in my perspective as a wife and at the same time mother of a growing toddler. And the hours went by so quickly that the evening has now set in.

Tomorrow will be another day that I will spend Php 200. I will choose to be thankful in the same way that I am thankful of how spending Php 35 made me fulfilled, content and happy.

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

