Posted in Home and Family, Of Thoughts and Emotions

The Little Organized Man

You won’t expect your house to be all tidy when you have little kids. The moment they grab on to something and play with it, you would most likely find it in a different place.

One afternoon when my child found a container full of Coca Cola plastic bottle caps, he insisted on playing with those little red round objects. At first I was thinking about him scattering them in the process of playing. But to my surprise, this is what he did!

image

He arranged them all in a straight line and was I so proud!

In another instant, in his obsession with round things, he saw me with some coins and I allowed him to play with them. Of course I needed to be right beside in case of his attempt to put them into his mouth.

Here’s what he did with the coins:

image

He arranged them the same way that he arranged the red bottle caps.

Same thing happened with the soap boxes which he got one by one from the kitchen cabinet to our living room.

image

I learned that being protective to keep our child away from swallowing coins or getting dirty doesn’t necessarily mean that we deprive them of exploring the wonderful things and exercise their young creativity. Yes their safety is our priority that’s why we need to keep watching them. They need to have a hold of those various things that may appear as nonsense to us, but means a whole new world for them. And, never mind the mess, you can always clean it all up later!
Who knows that by the “mess”, he can be a future banker, or perhaps in the next picture, an urban planner.

image

He might be building a city with buildings, swimming pools… We’d never know but we can always watch!

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

