Posted in Of Thoughts and Emotions

Remembering Psalm 23

Today is another day that I go to work clueless on whether what I can accomplish for the next eight hours. I feel that I’m in a slow-motion fall from a jet, wearing a parachute and just waiting to land somewhere.

Those that go to work and are busy for their purpose, no matter how difficult their tasks are; Those that handle a lot of responsibilities no matter how great or small; Those that exert all their efforts for a sensible goal… I envy them!

You see I’m at this point of waiting for some organizational changes and thus for a chance to have a different work, if not an added work. I’m not after promotion at all nor an increase in pay. I’m after a more meaningful work wherein I can say that I’m needed, I’m important, I’m valuable.

On my way to the office, I cried to God to give me direction. And He reminded me of His word in Psalm 23.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
    for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.

 

The Lord is my shepherd I shall lack nothing: indeed He’s been faithful to me and my family all through these years and I should be thankful. The many proofs that He has shown how He provided for all my needs are enough to make me trust Him more for the future to come. He is our source.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters: I claim this at this time when my soul seems to be restless, unsatified and looking for answers. I will wait on His leading.

He refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake: I am His child so for His glory He has a perfect plan for me.

Even though I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
    for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me: For this particular season that I get to walk through a dark valley in my career, I shall fear no evil because He is with me as I traverse this path. After all, He never promised that life will be free from trouble but He promised to be with us through it all!

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows: I also claim this promise. Whatever my enemy right now – the circumstance, bad people, the enemy Satan who tries to keep me down – God will prepare a feast for me in front of them all. I should cheer up because God is still good to me! He’s in control of everything and He wouldn’t let me go.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever: He said it clearly. His goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life. How great is our God!

Though answers may not be available right now, I will hold on to His perfect timing and plan. I am not giving up and will go on through this day with a renewed faith and hope.

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

