Posted in Home and Family

Toddler Feeding Struggles

I know parents can quickly relate to the struggle when those little lips are sealed close at the sight of a spoon approaching.

For nearly half a year my son stopped eating the things he used to like. He would have a few bites of the same food for many days. Just those few bites for the whole day will get him by. There are days when he wouldn’t eat at all. He returned to being an infant, relying on just milk.

Conscious about that advise not to force-feed, and that he is generally active and healthy, I kept on waiting for him to finally like to eat again.

Until I coudn’t help but give him his final week before I take him to the pedia for further consultation (my pedia is just a text away in terms of advices on what milk or multivitamins to give).

During that week,  which was about 2 weeks ago, I talked to my little one (who is now 20 months old) to eat. I forced him. I enclosed him in my arms and drove the spoon towards his mouth. It was a struggle for the first several meals. My husband was a great help as he was the one who often held the little boy as I fed him. Soon he began loving certain dishes that it was him who’s leaning towards the plate. What an answered prayer, his appetite is back!

I am so glad that he wants food again.  I think it was wrong that we relied on the caregiver to get him eating. Our hands-on effort as parents really mattered. We see to it that he is fed in the morning before we leave for work, and in the evening as we arrive home.

Here’s to more feeding times and less milk!

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

