Posted in Girl Things

Make-up Mid-Year Review

We’re almost done with the first half of the year and I’m just a little amazed to realize that I really need not splurge on make-up if I knew what I need and just what would I be really using.

Currently, this is what my make-up bag contains. Most of them stay in my office cabinet since I do my make-up upon reaching my cubicle.

image

I bought all of them during the holiday season (except for the Maybelline foundation and pressed powder which I purchased some time in April) and it looks like they are all going to last until the end of the year or for some it’s even beyond.

These ones come with me wherever I go with my bag.

image

They are basic like I can live with just these. The powder to instantly kill the shine, the Human Heart Nature lip balm to keep my lips healthy, and the Ever Bilena Lip and Cheek Tint to make me look alive.

Looking at my make-ups gives me a sound basis on which among them are the ones that I really use and which among them seem to have been bought out of my wants.

Notice the almost-unused lipsticks over there, and the equally seemingly unused eyeshadow pallets on the other side? That’s right I bought them all just to add to the holiday shopping spree back then only to realize now that i’m using only one shade of lipstick for most days, and I only color my eyelids when I feel like it, which is about 2 out of 10 Fridays!

I really love makeup and hoarding makeup as well. There had been many times when I end up with tubes of expired lipstick and unfinished bottles of liquid foundation. No matter how my husband would let me use them for their price’s sake, they would bring me no good since they’ve reached the end of their shelf life so they end up in the trash bin.

There was a time when I even attended a make-up class where my passion for enhancing my own (and others’ beauty) was intensified.

But as I realized what i’ve been losing with all those that i had but never really used or used up, it was time for me to think twice before grabbing that 20% OFF or Buy 1 Take 1 offer. The discipline in buying something if and only if the one you have had run out – that’s what I need to consistently impose upon myself.

That way I can save a lot of money and I will end up with clean pans of cake powder and empty bottles and tubes. Maybe by then the feels of opening a fresh new lipstick would be more especial, maybe triumphant even.

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

