Posted in Of Thoughts and Emotions

Once Upon Those Rainy Nights

Sometimes we dread things that we will one day long for. We would wish for them to end, and when they do, we’d only look back to those memories that we can never bring back because things are not the same way anymore. 
When I was younger during my schooling years I would dread climbing up the hill to our house every single day.  For so many times I rode the tricycle from school to the foot of that hill with a heavy heart because I still need to hike while my classmates are already sitting pretty in their couches. Did I mention climbing the hill by foot even when it’s rainy and the clayish soil turns into mud that sticks on the soles of my black leather shoes and the mud becomes thicker as I go?

I remember those late afternoons or evenings when as I ride the tricycle the cold wind that came with rain would touch my cheeks. That longing to reach home the soonest made those commutes such awful hurdles.

Now those experiences are almost a decade ago, and I could not bring them back again. I never thought I would long for those moments now, now that our home on top of that hill is no longer ours. I think that’s the sad part. If only I can still spend a certain vacation just to re-live the scenes that I told you, then maybe it will be somewhat bittersweet.  Oh i can just imagine and my heart is now crying.

Maybe we should cherish the present no matter how it makes us feel. Endure the pain, cry out with laughter… now. No more wishful thinking that tomorrow could be brighter, because the future is another different story to cherish. The now will be gone too soon as it drifts to be part of our past. And we can just accept how things have changed forever.

  

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

