Posted in Of Thoughts and Emotions

Habagat Break

Today is a break from the habagat season of heavy rains and whirlwinds. After more than a week of day-to-night downpours over the metropolitan and some parts of the rest of the Philippines, Mr. Sunshine finally showed up with his windy blow that sweeps so low over the city’s structures with its surviving vegetation and people.  

As I watch the bending trees and agitated leaves of the greenery outside, with that beam of sunlight on their surfaces, I am taken back to a place and time of my distant past.

Same windy days and sunny afternoons such as this when I arrive at my grandmother’s home in Pangasinan for my elementary and highschool vacations. It’s after a five-hour exhausting bus ride from our home, and then a 30-minute tricycle ride towards the inmost part of the barrio where I grew up as a toddler. During that ride and upon reaching the house the swinging greenery greets me as my grandmother would warmly let me in and offer me her freshly-cooked palitaw or my favorite tambu-tambong.

Ah, the days gone by!!! It’s amazing how in the midst of my busy life there is a time warp through which I can go back to those easy days of my youth.

Author:

I'm your simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a Reply

