Posted in Crafts, Hobbies, Home and Family, Uncategorized

How to Make Latik and Coconut Oil

Coconut Oil has many known benefits to our overall health, inside and out. Many do not know that making this oil at home is so easy, and has an equally amazing by-product: the “Latik.”

On New Year’s Day of 2019, I gave my first shot at making coconut oil.

I used coconut milk (gata) from 3 mature coconuts I bought from Novaliches Bayan. I had them pressed by the machine used by the vendors so I skipped the tedious task of pressing the juice out of the coconut meat!

Immediately as I got home (around 15 minutes from the market), I poured the coconut milk onto the pan and started the low flame. This is how it looked after around 30 minutes of boiling:

Gently mixing the coconut milk from time to time, one will notice that the bubbly whitish part seem to be set apart from the clear, oily part.

After about another hour under continuous low fire, it begins to turn brown:

The oil becomes more prominent and one can separate it from the brown part, which by now has turned solid. This just needs another 30 minutes and then voila! We have around 5 ounces of coconut oil and a lot of Latik for our delicacies. Overall, it took 2 hours to make this.

I hope to do this again for my future coconut oil needs!

Author:

I'm a follower of Jesus, a simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a comment