Posted in Of Thoughts and Emotions

Birthday Thoughts

Today I got the chance to ponder once again about the seemingly happy tradition that is very widely observed, but in its truest sense, a “vanity and vexation of spirit.”

I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all is vanity and vexation of spirit.” Ecclesiastes 1:14

Just recently the Chief of Police celebrated his birthday, or so as he says “Mananita,” amidst the implementation of the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) and gained the ire of the public for violating that very thing that they are making the people follow.

And as I can see in the leaked photos over social media, people are giving him a cake and flowers, songs being sung for him, and then there’s feasting over an abundance. More like offering to him a sacrifice (risking their health amidst the threat of the pandemic) of praise and honor, right? Yes that’s what people do when someone celebrates their birthday. The good things about them, wonderful things they’ve done, their worthy characteristics, among others, are praised, given high regard, worshiped.

Have we all been taught enough in the Bible to worship God alone?

“Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.” Matthew 4:10

And so today this is a related story.

My colleague sent me a private message to prepare 10-minute videos each which will be compiled together with the other colleagues’ videos. The videos are supposed to contain our Birthday greetings to our boss, whose birthday is tomorrow.

Having realized recently that Birthdays have pagan origins, and that Satanists uphold it as their most important holiday, I began to unlearn the celebration for me and my family. It is also to obey God’s word thru Jeremiah to learn not the way of the heathen.

“Thus saith the Lord, Learn not the way of the heathen, and be not dismayed at the signs of heaven; for the heathen are dismayed at them.” Jeremiah 10:2.

By default I wouldn’t be recording the video, until I realized that today is the birthday of one of our teammates. This teammate has been on sick leave since January in his fight against cancer, and have survived a major operation and is undergoing treatments since.

I asked my colleague if any similar effort is initiated or being done for our teammate.

There is none.

So why the video for our boss, and none for a teammate?

Why the regard for someone of higher position while just ordinary greeting, if any, to a commoner, when Jesus loves us all?

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

“Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him.” John 13:16

Maybe to gain the boss’ smile and his appreciation, upon bestowing unto him the effort, the honor, the awesome greetings.

Maybe for the reason of obtaining the approval of that one with power.

“For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10

With this, may we be wise and obedient to

Avoid it, pass not by it, turn from it, and pass away” (Proverbs 4:15)

those things that are “vanity and vexation of spirit.”

God loves us all!

 

P.S.

In the Bible no man/woman of God celebrated their birthday.

Only twice was there such a celebration by non-believing kings, and for one it involved the beheading of John the Baptist.

Amazing how “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.” Psalm 116:15. Not the birthday.

Author:

I'm a follower of Jesus, a simple working mom and wife. I blog about everyday things that I come across in this fantastic journey, and I do so for anyone who'd find them interesting, helpful, or entertaining in any way. I'd also want to meet people with the same (and even not so same) interests as mine. It's a short life in a small planet with lots of ups and downs, let's make the most out of it!

Leave a comment